The Web Standards List

Article: What’s Next? The Same Thing! @ The Autistic Cuckoo

Many ask what web standards are. Here’s the list that web standards prevent.

Web Standards prevent:

  • lack a specified document type,
  • contain invalid (X)HTML,
  • use tables for layout,
  • require a particular browser to work,
  • require client-side scripting to work,
  • require third-party products such as Flash to work,
  • cannot be used by people with disabilities,
  • are semantically meaningless,
  • are unnecessarily heavy to download, thereby also placing unnecessary load
    on the server,
  • force links to open in separate windows whether the visitor wants them to
    or not, and
  • do not allow the text to be resized in the most commonly used

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *